Clay research – Germaine Richier

I wanted to learn more about clay as a material so I looked at the work of Alberto Giacometti and Germaine Richier. Richiers’ work is astonishing. This life-size version of a preying mantis that resembles a woman is so disturbing that I could barely look at it when I came across it. The texture of the piece is also exactly what I was looking for with clay. I realised I need to work on a much larger scale with the material and with much stronger foundations to support it. I will get some wood to make armatures. I’ve watched some youtube videos of people making them that has helped.

This crucifixion is so powerful. The vulnerability and pain is almost excruciating to look at for me. I am very moved by it.

How she did this cast I will never know…

Actually, I very much intend to find out! This is the first piece I saw of Richiers. These angry but vulnerable anthropomorphic creatures are so intense. Richier was certainly the pre-cursor to Louise Bourgeois.

This (below) is such a contemporary seeming form.

1 Response to “Clay research – Germaine Richier”


  1. 1 gloria ceccherini April 4, 2011 at 1:13 am

    meraviglioso


Leave a Reply

Louise Woodcock

Categories

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

