Dead Rats’ Lungs

I decided I would like to have internal organs inside the cavity of the rat so I made a clay mould of veins that would be inside the lungs and poured resin coloured with ink into the mould but it kept running out. It was unsuccessful as a mould but the object was quite pleasing as a drawing.

I want to have the outer part of the lungs in latex and have them breath. This will be a complex undertaking but I feel that my work is destined to be kinetic. I also intend to do some animation work with my objects. I tried a number of materials to create veins through the latex, such as wool, wire and thread. This was very fiddly but some worked quite well. the wire rusted slightly which gave a nice bloody effect.

0 Responses to “Dead Rats’ Lungs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Louise Woodcock

Categories

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

